This is why I Wear Gray.

In May of 1997, I lost my dad to a Glioblastoma. To put into perspective how devastating this type of brain cancer is: the single most prevalent symptom is a progressive memory, personality, or neurological deficit, with a median survival time of approximately 14 months (from wikipedia). He lost the ability to speak and walk; his only luck was that my mom devoted her every waking hour to taking care of him for the 5 months that he couldn’t take care of himself. I was there when he passed. I was there with my mother and my dad’s best friend. While my mother screamed and begged him not to go, I whispered in his ear that it was ok, that we would be ok, that I knew it was time for him to leave.

I know, that today, 15 years later, his prognosis would not be much better, but maybe with enough funding and research, more and more people and families can eventually be spared the trauma of watching their loved ones fade away. So I participate in Wear Gray. I know the donations collected from my items alone won’t make a huge impact but, even the widest expanse of desert is made up of tiny grains of sand.

My clothing release for the event are the Jolee Capris. The gray and peach versions are a 100% donation item, and also exclusive to the event. These colors will not be released for sale outside of Wear Gray.

The Jolee Capris are a partial-mesh creation that allows you to take advantage of rigged mesh at the knees, without requiring you to change those carefully constructed curves. The combination of clothing layer with rigged mesh is a perfect solution for those of you who are attached to your shape, and is also a great way to incorporate mesh and still wear an untucked layer based shirt. (demo available, 5 sizes) There are 12 additional non-donation colors available at the event, and they will be in store soon too, but I’ll save that for another post.

My other donation item is a colorful eye-shadow set inspired by the colors of the flowers that are starting to bloom. For now you can only find these at Wear Gray. (there are 2 more colors in this style set out as a gift, too.)

blossom shadows

for more info about the Wear Gray event visit the web site, or just head down now and help us raise funds to fight this devastating disease.
Limo to elymode at Wear Gray.

❤ ely

2 thoughts on “This is why I Wear Gray.

  1. Starfire "Star" Silverstar says:

    Awesome items for an awesome cause!!! So sorry for your loss. 😥
    I too know what it’s like to care for a close love one taken from us because of cancer….my mom. The hurt never really leaves. (cozy)

  2. Im so sorry for you loss. Wear Gray is a great cause, and your donation items are amazing! I blogged today about Wear Gray, the more exposure the better. I don’t have brain Cancer, I have Uterine Cancer, and any cuase for cancer research… Im all in.

Leave a Reply

